the bored machinist

Utah_jeepster

Super Moderator
Bored at work.....open cnc mill

ForumRunner_20130305_201653.png

What exactly is your job? I think I may look into learning your trade...
I am a machinist...I am nothing with out my mill....lol, I wear many hats at work, engineer, cnc programmer, operator, deburr hand. but a general machinist, who has lots of time on his hands.

hey, I like that antenna mount!
Get a swing away tire carrier Terry and I will make you one up. can churn them out in like 15 minutes.

You can't be bored. You are a machinist. We always think about building abetter mouse trap.
May your tool box be full of Staret products.....LOL

Nice.... I have a few. When I worked as a tool and die maker, they wouldn't let you roll in a Kennedy tool box.... The thing about them is that they never loose their values like the metal ones do. I had a rollaway like that once and I traded it for a used Bridgeport. The Bridgeport made me more money than the tool box.... LOL
i have my own shop now but I travel most of the time teaching CAD-CAM software all over the country. Once in a while the navy calls me back in for a short time... Just got home for a while but it looks like I might get called back soon.....

I still make a living out of my box. Myq company has several seats of Mastercam and solid works. I still use Tek-soft for my programmng. Been thinking of getting the student software of Mastercam, just so I can fix the code bombs my programmer dreams up, but we only have 2d seats, my tek is a full 3D seat, so when I need to fix code I do it in teksoft

So I got the last of the bored machinist projects back from the platers

ForumRunner_20130322_213639.png
A few 4--40 screws and the switchs

ForumRunner_20130322_213754.png

Then mounted up

ForumRunner_20130322_213847.png

Too many people are stuck now days on one product. You have the right approach, use what ever have available and get your job done. Let the chips fly!