lifts

TJoffroad00

I am a newbie to the forum and i like it a lot but i have noticed one thing.Why do many on you advise against big lifts? I am planning on going 6 inches and 35's and i dont think of that as a huge lift.I say if you have the money and time throw a big Skyjacker 8" or more on.I love to see big Jeeps and dont care much for a spacer lift and 32's although i understand that most people are on a strict budget. I love big lifts and big tires and i advise anyone to get a 4 inch or higher lift.Just noticed many telling not to go so high. Not trying to flame on everyone just wondering what their reasons are.

Awesome forum though.
image-missing.png
[addsig]

Welcome dude. to answer your question, i have heard that the rule of thumb is to go with the shortest possible lift/biggest tire combo. Reason being is that you dont want such a high center of gravity. Yea the jeep will look badass, but when your climbin and articulating, you would be more topheavy. The last thing is that... while this doesn't apply to those with coilover susp., the less arc in the leaf spring, the better the articulation. Either way, it depends on what kind of wheelin' you're gonna be doin with the jeep. About the spacer lift with 32's, im not the biggest fan either, but its not a bad idea because you get more tire clearance without lifting your whole 2500 pound beast up in the air 4".[addsig]

65 miles per hour on 35"s, on top of a big old 6" lift, plus a body lift would be like drivein a spinning top on the back of a rocking horse, or even worse. Not meaning to flame you either just would hate to read where you got killed on the freeway while looking really cool and falling hard from such a hight! Get that beast up in the air you will have a real eye popping, parade ride but you better be careful when driving anywhere with steep curve or side angles. Tug
image-missing.png
[addsig]