What to do First

mgaron

Well, I just got my new jeep and have a little money to burn. I was wondering what my first mod or accessory should be. I dont want to void any warranties, and need to keep it to a 200 dollar max. Maybe tow straps or bumpers or intake or exhaust. I do not know. My jeep is a daily driver and i off-road a little but not anything to complicated b/c im a newbie. Any suggestions.

Disconnects. Get them done while everything is new and you have no rusted bolts.

Yeah, disconnects are the best bang for the buck. I would also recommend a hi lift and a good tow strap with hoops, not metal hooks. A shovel and other tools will be helpful as well if u plan on doing some serious wheeling.

Ok, well you got the Rubicon... Excellent choice. I would say the strap, Hi-Lift jack, and then you should have enough left over for a K&N replacement Air filter. Although... the Disco's might be good. Not sure of their importance on a TJ. I have a YJ and just removed my Sway bar all together, but I have leafs... so I'm not sure. If you have some $ left over or find some on the ground... you might think about a CB if you plan on joining a club. I got a basic CB that is waterproof from Radio Shack for $60, antenna is another $10. It saved my butt once and paid for itself in just that one time.

C

In looking for a tow strap what weight limit and length should i be looking for?

water pump pulley for 258 (vbelt, 2 groove)

20'x2" strap rated at 20K is a good all around strap. Make sure you've got tow hooks front and rear, a CB, swaybar disconnects, and a hi-lift jack. That should set you up very well.

Good to learn a LOT with a stock jeep before lifting it, you'll be better off. Careful with the lockers on that Rubi, they will get you in over your head very quickly. I saw a jeeper lay his wife's Rubi on it's side with only 160mi on the ticker and temp registration :shock:

Let's do some damage with that loot-
*customized color windshield wipers
*bullet hole stickers