Bought my first Jeep last night '89 Sahara

M.Johndrow

I have been messing around with vehicles heavily for many years. Starting with a full resotration of a 1969 Mercury Cougar (now sold) then an '87 Toyota MR2 then a '91 Toyota MR2 I decided I wanted to move into a Jeep type vehicle. So I sold off the '87 MR2 and started a search for a decent Wrangler. That search really only lasted a week. After looking at two worn out Wranglers earlier in the week yesterday while looking at my local Craigslist a 1989 Wrangler Sahara popped up for sale. I went out to look at it. It was a little rough around the edges but did everything it was suppose to. So now I have a Jeep wrangler in my drive way I know nothing about! HAHA. It is the 4.0 Auto with full hard top and full steel doors. My friend who is big into these jeeps and who nudged me in this direction says that I got a really good deal. I paid $2500 for it. It has 156,000 miles on it. The seller seemed pretty honest and he was only selling because he just bought a 95 Wrangler. He let me take it and drive it as long as I wanted. One thing I was concerned about was I did not feel the 4WD getting traction when I tried to test it. But I did not have a good place to do it. I was just taking a tight turn in a parking lot. I took a chance on it anyway. It needs a little TLC its not perfect. But I think it is a good deal. Anyway I will get to searching the forum and see where I need to start! Matt

Welcome to JEEPZ Matt! Leave while you can, it's very addicting. To late you already bought the jeep, good luck!!

So my friend is telling me the doors and hard top could fetch up to $1000. Does that sound right?

Cool! I figured he was embelishing things a bit. Its over at my parents house now. I cant wait to go put the tags on it and bring it the rest of the way home. I really hope this works out and changes my opinion of domestic vehicles. I have not had good luck with them and have not been a fan. Maybe this will change things!