WARNING pointless venting rant

jps4jeep

Super Moderator
I am very enraged at the lack of help at the local auto and hardware shops! I am a teacher, and I know twice more than the morrons that work at these places!

OK here is the deal, I installed a set of autometer guages, cylinder head temp and a transmission temp that I am putting in my T-case, well, I need to drill and tap the holes with a 10mm-1.0 thread tap (which is a fairly odd size) All my drill and tap sets do not have that thread, they are all 10mm-1.25 or 10mm-1.5 well on sunday morning I went to Home depot, Lowes, autozone and pep boys and no one had the correct Tap, the kid at pep boys told me just to use the 1.25 tap, saying that is would work! :twisted: NO wrong thread, but he insisted on telling me that that measurement was the length of the tap threads :twisted: NO it in the measurement of the # of threads. well to my dismay, I new I would have to wait for the Metalman work shop and supply house to open (where I get most of my stuff) It was not open sunday, and I was busy monday, I I jet out of work early yesturday and drive over and walk in and BAM right there is the tap I need, But I do not have the drill bit to predrill the holes. Some taps require a drill that is a letter designation, and this particular requires a "T" drill bit, so I could not find it on the rack so I walk over to the sales guy and ask if he has any "T" behind the counter or out back.