Petition to save Johnson Valley

TallJeeper

There's a petition being circulated to save Johnson valley, home if the Hammers, from annexation by the Marine Corps. I'm in complete support of our troops, but we really can't let this happen.

The link is here.

I've already signed it.

Sorry, anything to help the troops. To me Any military service>1 off road park our of a billion in cali.

The military is also attempting to us Imminent domain to claim additional land in Colorado along the I-25 corridor near Fort Carson.
I am a veteran. But... I don't necessarily agree with the need as they have stated it.

Im kinda partial to the needs of the military, even for the Marines! LOL!

I support the military too, but how much land do they need for training? How many bases do the army and marines already have in California? More than enough for desert training.
BRAC is steady closing bases every year. How can they justify expansion?

I say let the military have what it needs. We can not afford to have troops in harms way that are not properly trained. If it betters our military, I am all for it. Have you served? If you have, you know that we need a better trained military.

No, I have never served. My two grandads, father and brother are all vets, and I work with the Army and Marine Corps every day. I have the utmost respect for the military, but that doesn't mean that just because they say they need something we should just hand it over without question.
Desert training is important, the thing is they already have plenty of places to do it. Just off the top of my head, the Army has Ft. Irwin (NTC) and Sierra. The Marines have Pendleton, Miramar, Barstow and Twentynine Palms. Seems like they have access to plenty of desert training. They can leave Johnson Valley alone. There's plenty more desert to train in.