Building a fiberglass center console....any advice?

Craig

restored at 100 k?

Hey. I have an old sub kicking around (ADS RS10) back from the days when I was into car audio. I've wanted to put into my jeep for a while now but don't want to sacrafice any room at all. I really don't care much for the stereo and don't plan on putting in a high end stereo, I just figured since I have it, I'll use it. My plan is to build a whole new center console that is extended back to the step on the floor before the rear seats. It'll hold a 10" sub facing back. I've never worked with fiberglass before so I'm looking for any suggestions or help. I was planning on making the frame for the console out of metal brackets used in home building...angle brackets used for wooden studs ect. Once I have the outside frame built, I'm gonna wrap the whole thing in a fine metal mesh that I can bend and form to the shape I want. Once that's done, I was going to fiberglass the whole thing. Who knows, mabye I'm going about this all wrong. Mabye I should make the frame out of wood, then fiberglass it since I have access to almost any kind of woodworking machine you can think of. I don't want to make the whole thing out of wood, I want to fiberglass it since it's something I've never done before and want to try. I still haven't figured out how I'm going to make the lid or seal it down to make it air tight. Any suggestions?

RE: restored at 100 k?

the metal frame idea aught to work. go to you local car audio shop and ask if thay have any of the fabric thay use for "glassing" you can streach it out over the frame and slather the poo out of it with fiberglass resin, then reinforce with the fiberglass shards stuff and alot more resin. and wile your at it you may as well get leagaly high lol just kiddn. have you ever worked with fiberglass before. its real easy youll see.