what are the do's and dont's of a timing job

luis

I'm going to be replacing whole timing chain on my 97 tj 2.5. I have a few questions for this is my first time doing a timing chain, iv done belts before. Would the cam shaft move freely once free of the crank shaft? Is it necessary to replace the sprockets? What happens if I line up the dots and after the chain is moved either the cam or crank move can I simple reverse the action and line the dots back up? Or will there be a lot of resistance preventing the cam to move. I know the crank shaft won't move cause of the compression but just unsure of the cam shaft. Thank you for looking and appriciate any opinion.

if you take the spark plugs out, you can rotate the engine a lot easier when you need to line stuff up because there will be no more compression.

as far as the other stuff, i have only done timing belts also, or timing gears. never a chain.

Would the cam be able to move freely? I wouldn't think so due to the push rods clingy to the valves, i just want to be sure. I would hate for either the cam or the crank to move why'll the chain is off messing up the timing all together

Replacing timing chains and belts are pretty similar. On a timing chain you should replace the gears also. If there's a tensioner I'd change that to Unless your chain Is loose and jumped out of alignment you should be able to line everything back up from tdc. I'm not sure if your motor is a interference type, in which case you won't be able to turn the cam shaft freely because the valves will make contact with the piston.

all the times i did this on belt engines, i never moved anything. i pulled the old one off, put the new one, and then rotated the engine slowly to make sure the marks were still good. i never had an issue doing that and i have done 8 or 9 bmws and some asian cars and trucks that way

I only ask cause to remove the sprocket for the cam you need a wrench. Well I'm afraid that might rotate the cam instead of the bolt.