Possible business idea? Please leave feedback . . .

4jeepgirl

Hello to all you fellow jeep owners/enthusiasts. This is my first time visiting your site, and I'm impressed. I have some questions for anyone who is kind enough to answer. . . Where do you go to get your jeeps fixed? If you're not fixing them yourselves, what is your next resource? The questions arise, because I've often wondered about folks who buy jeeps and want to modify or repair them but don't know how, don't have the time, whatever. . . I'm seriously considering opening a specialty store for this purpose, but I'm not sure there's a demand. Anyway, if anyone has any ideas, please let me know. Many thanks!!

REASONS WE ARE GLAD THE INTERNET DIDN'T EXIST IN THE 60's...

Just make sure you carry quality parts. For some reason most shop/store owners that I've had experience with forget what they themselves were looking for in a shop BEFORE they became the owner of one. I hate going into a "speed shop" or 4x4 specialty shop and being met with two isles of ricer crap and chrome dipsticks. I can order out of a catalog myself, so make sure you have a decent wholesale price directly from your product manufacturers so you can compete with the stack of Jeep catalogs located beside my toilet.
As far as mechanics go.....you get what you pay for. I'm turning around and leaving if I walk into a shop and Bubba, who just got fired from his job as tire plugger at the gas station on the corner, is the tech guy getting ready to install my expensive parts.