Buying online Autos????

mingez

Okay, since I am considering purchasing a Wrangler online... a thought dawned on me: I've never done that before.

Have any of you done this? How did you securely exchange title for money? The person I'm buying from is unsure as well. Are there services that ensure safe transfer of said items?

BTW this is not an Ebay transaction.

we bought a montero on ebay motors, we gave them a down payment as well as a signed purchase agreement (i think it legally binds the sale, i bet you can just sign a sheet saying as soon as i recieve the title i will pay the rest, cause if you try to ditch they can sue you because you signed it, or something like that) then they overnighted us the keys and the title, and we paid the rest and the car came on a truck a week later. but thats through ebay so i wouldnt know how to do it for you.. i'd suggest an escrow service. i think they pretty much middle man it, for a small fee of course

It's all about the recycler. Pick one up and flip through it. They have some killer deals and they are right in town.

My uncle bought one of the new retro T-Birds through eBay and he used Escrow.com...said it was totally painless and hassle-free!

Sooooo what you are all saying is : I should use Escrow.com? Heehehehehe

TC, I'd trust you. You'd take care of your favorite leftist bastard.

Hey, Mingez, please let us know how this all works out. I'm constantly checkin' eBay for old Willys trucks and I'm just curious how well the on-line-vehicle-buying thing works. Got my eye on one here locally, but if I can find one online that needs a little less work.................??? Keep us posted.

mud

Yeah, we are going to try the Escrow.com thing. Thanks everyone for suggesting that. He's as nervous as I am, but I think we have it worked out.

Here's what he suggested after I suggested the escrow.com thing:

Ian,