1980 CJ7 Vacuum Lines

JakeNM

I am new to the Jeep community. I just came across a CJ for a good price, I think. My question, as with all older vehicles, things need to be done. I am missing all vacuum lines. Which are of importance right now? Also, I have a heavy exhaust smell coming into the cab. I am pondering taking the CJ to an exhaust/muffler shop. After reading some posts, there are some knowledgeable jeepers out there. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Hi JakeNM,

I would say the distributor advance line is most important for driveability. It probably went from the intake source to a temperature controlled valve and then on to the distributor. Without this line you won't get the right advance curve and the engine will not perform at all. Look for a diagram under the hood (I'm not sure if the 80 model had it but probably). This will show all of the vacuum line routing. A Chilton manual would also have the diagram. On that year you would probably have a combination valve that controlls the air pump output (looks about like a coke can in size). This is controlled by several vacuum lines (not too important unless required by your emissions laws). You will have the EGR circuit which has a temperature controlled valve and vacuum lines. This is not needed unless you have emission laws that require it to be working - although, a properly working EGR valve can help keep the engine from pinging, if I recall. On the air cleaner housing you should have a vacuum operated door that directs hot/cool air to the carb. This system has several lines and a thrmostatic valve. Not too important unless you get carburetor icing... Hope this helps a little. CJ's are cool - Best of luck - John

I can help a little perhaps.